My Privilege

And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body. And be thankful.
– Col. 3:15

It is an understatement to say that thankfulness is big with God. It was big in the Old Testament, mostly because Israel forgot to be thankful for what they had been given. Likewise, Christians are instructed to remain thankful, lest we fall under the same condemnation. Paul told the Thessalonians to “give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you” (1 Thess. 5:18). But what do you do when someone thanks you? That has been an awkward thing for me. Deep down I don’t believe I deserve a “thank you.” Especially when I believe I should be the one thanking someone else.

Often, I will say “my privilege,” which is intended to express both my gratitude for the “thank you,” and my deep sense that I was blessed to do whatever it was that prompted the thanks. Over the years it has been my privilege to be involved in the lives of other people, because they have blessed me greatly.

It is truly my privilege to be married to my wonderful wife, she has been such a ray of light in my life. It is truly my privilege (and a wonderful responsibility) to have been given a healthy and happy boy. It is my privilege to be attending the East Tennessee School of Preaching and Missions (aka SEIBS), where it is my privilege to know some great guys. (Since you are reading this it might be my privilege to know you.) Most importantly it is my privilege to serve a great and awesome God! He ultimately does not need my service, but  being full of grace and mercy, He allows me to offer my imperfect life to Him.

So, to you reading this blog, I say, THANK YOU. Now, what are you going to do with that?

One thought on “My Privilege

Leave a Reply

